Voltaren Gel

By tharr Added at February 27, 2010 Views 8,242 Reviews 14

Voltaren Gel is a prescription NSAID (non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drug) treatment that can be applied directly to site of osteoarthritis pain. I have some osteoarthritis in my knees from football and racing, so I gave it a try.   

Although it is specifically for osteoarthritis, I did try it on my hands and noticed relief from my RA.  As it states on their website, it is for knees and hands. It has not been evaluated for use on the spine, hip, or shoulder.  Voltaren Gel claims to be the only prescription topical medication proven to significantly reduce osteoarthritis pain in both the knees and the joints of the hands 

Voltaren Gel was shown to significantly reduce pain in hand and knee osteoarthritis, with pain relief sustained through the end of treatment.

I will leave you with this, I don't know about a 51% reduction in pain for me, but I can positively say it does reduce my pain.  As all of you with any type of chronic pain know, any pain relief is welcomed.

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (14 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
Anonymous
Anonymous September 7, 2017 at 9:12 am   

When your Doctor is slow to refilling your meds Voltaren
Gel has relieved my aches and pain. I highly recommend everyone have this in their medicine cabinet.

morningsunshine
morningsunshine April 25, 2012 at 3:37 pm   

I LOVE my Voltaren gel…I was first introduced to it in Jamaica on a missionary trip helping out at an orphange way up in the hills in Montego Bay! I fell and I was taking some kids into the doctor that day and I asked him about i there was something I could take for the swelling and I mentioned about my arthritis…He gave me a prescription for Voltaren. I've used it since (I know there is alot of possible side effects! However there are with many drugs.) He also gave me a prescription for the Voltaren pills…they did not work as well! Anyway Voltaren is an old medication that was brought back from years ago and repackaged. I have told many people locally about how it helps me! It may not help everyone the same way but I get relief on my joints. The gel is legal here in the states. Back 8-9 yrs. ago the pills were still not approved by the FDA but I know they have OK'd it since. I use it on my hands, feet, my total replacement joint area's on both hips, knee's and my jaw bone. It helps my shoulders too. I use it twice a day. I do get a liver blood test every 5-6 months just to check that everything is O.K. I do go in streaks, I may use it for 6-8 weeks and then not for a month or so, but its nice to know I have it to use. Also if your insurance isn't paying much for this prescription, you can go on the Voltaren website and they'll send you a card totake a substanial amount of money off this prescription! What do you have to loose but the soreness, swelling & pain…

mario3rd
mario3rd October 7, 2011 at 9:38 pm   

I just got my first Rx for Voltaren. It definitely seems to help my hands and my knees!

morningsunshine
morningsunshine October 7, 2011 at 8:36 pm   

It sure helpes me!

sandypops
sandypops October 7, 2011 at 7:08 pm   

I've tried Voltaren Gel on my hands, knees, elbow and had very little relief.

Lizziebell60
Lizziebell60 June 3, 2011 at 6:23 am   

I will try it if the need arises!

1cookie :)
1cookie :) April 21, 2011 at 5:20 pm   

Iv'e used this on my hand for a few months now..very helpful

chele70
chele70 March 22, 2011 at 11:42 am   

I have tried this on my knees and elbows and its not too bad. It takes the ease off alittle to wear I can sleep alittle better but still in pain.

JillAL
JillAL September 20, 2010 at 11:22 am   

I have very advanced OA in my hands. I have used Voltaren Gel for 2 years. It gives great relief when the inflammation flares up in the finger joints. I do use daily but when I do use it I can tell a big difference. I can no longer make a fist with either hand and all my fingers, except my thumbs have nodules and are misshaped. My hands are very weak and stiff.

elemental9905
elemental9905 June 7, 2010 at 9:07 pm   

Voltaren Gel Side Effects May Result in Liver Problems: FDA
Published: December 8th, 2009 • Comments: 8

The FDA has announced that it is requiring new warnings about potential side effects of Voltaren gel, an arthritis topical treatment that may cause liver damage.
On December 4, the FDA, Novartis Consumer Health and Endo Pharmaceuticals sent a letter to healthcare professionals alerting them to postmarketing reports that found that Voltaren gel has been linked to cases of drug-induced hepatoxicity that have resulted in liver damage, the need for liver transplants and death. It was unclear how many reports the FDA and manufacturers have received of Voltaren gel liver damage.

Voltaren gel (diclofenac sodium topical gel) is approved by FDA for the treatment of osteoarthritis pain in joints suitable for topical treatment, such as the hands and knees. It is a prescription non-steriodal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID).

Also known as Solaraze, Voltaren Topical and used in the Flector Patch, Voltaren gel is also sometimes used to treat migraines, gout, and menstrual pain.

The new warning label changes indicate that the gel, and all products containing diclofenac sodium, have resulted severe hepatic reactions, including liver necrosis, jaundice, and liver failure. Symptoms began to appear in some cases within the first month of therapy.

The FDA and the manufacturers recommend that patients be given the lowest effective dose for the shortest duration possible in order to minimize the risk of liver damage. They also recommend that doctors measure transaminases periodically in patients undergoing long-term therapy with Voltaren gel. Elevated levels of transaminases can be an early indicator of future liver problems brought on by the gel.

brokigpojke
brokigpojke May 11, 2010 at 11:52 pm   

I live for voltaren gel it really helps with the pain when it gets unbearable; especially in my neck! hallelujah for VOLTATAREN GEL!!!!

amg51
amg51 May 2, 2010 at 3:25 am   

Question, given the volteran gel is a topical can it be used in conjunction with celebrex?

teddybear999
teddybear999 March 17, 2010 at 7:47 am   

This is the only NSAID that I have found that has provided ANY relief to my symptoms.

Pros

You do not get the stomach upset that can come with the oral NSAID's. It is easy to use and provides almost instant relief.

Cons

Only available by prescription. Can be a little messy when putting 4 gm. on a knee.

tharr
tharr February 27, 2010 at 9:13 pm   
Pros

• I noticed almost immediate pain relief in my knees and hands.
• In a 6 week study of patients with osteoarthritis of the hand, results showed that pain levels were reduced by 46%.
• In a 12 week study in patients with osteoarthritis of the knee, Voltaren Gel showed a 51% reduction in pain. 

Cons

• Have to have a prescription.
• Since Voltaren Gel is an NSAID, it carries the same risks, there may be increased risk of serious or possibly fatal cardiovascular events, heart attack, or stroke with use of it.

Hide the Social Toolbar Show the Social Toolbar