Hot Tub

By tharr Added at December 20, 2010 Views 1,028 Reviews 16

Hot tubs provide some great temporary relief. Heat helps by bringing natural pain relief to a sore joint. Heat increases the circulation, thus the fluid from a swollen joint can be removed by the blood stream and filtered out by the kidneys. If you have access to a hot tub then you know that exposing painful joints to warm soothing water for 20 minutes at night and in the morning can make a big difference in how you sleep and with your joint mobility during the day. For me, after a 20 minute soak at 103 degrees, I am more relaxed at night. Not only do I feel a reduced pain level, I sleep well allowing my body to rejuvenate sore and painful joints better. In the morning, a 20 minute soak helps get relief needed to get my joints moving for the day. I have used one for six years now and while it may not be long lasting relief, it is relief. After a 20 minute soak, I hurt less and am more flexible.

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (16 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
tharr
tharr November 10, 2011 at 3:23 am   

Lori, thanks for the info, was not aware of this.

Lori Byrnes
Lori Byrnes October 22, 2011 at 5:51 pm   

Hey tharr, I used to have a jacuzzi in my pool, and I agree that a 20 minute soak will do wonders, but (here comes the warning)-for people with severe nerve pain, especially sciatic pain, staying in the water for any longer than that, or having the heat turned up any higher, the heat can cause the tissue to swell, pressing on the nerves more and making the pain INTENSE. The reason I know this is because it happened to me. My in-laws were over, and we were in for about 45 minutes. My sciatic pain was so bad that I had to go to the ER for a shot of Demerol to calm it down, and use ice packs off and on for 24 hours.. Everything within moderation

morningsunshine
morningsunshine June 2, 2011 at 12:52 pm   

Hot tubs are very relaxing and the heat feels great! Getting out is a chore and watch out it can be a accident waiting to happen. Gee, ask me… thats how I broke my ankle in 2 places a couple weeks ago, but that was only getting out of only the bath tub! I'm reminded of that everyday when my ankle starts hurting!

Misty91
Misty91 June 2, 2011 at 11:27 am   

I have a whirlpool tub and it does wonders for the pain and stiffness but you have to be careful and make sure somebody is near by when you get out. That's what my doctor warned be about. I found out what he meant. I was so relaxed I had almost no strength.

marieanne
marieanne June 1, 2011 at 9:24 pm   

I definately need one of these-HOT TUB- marieanne

Lizziebell60
Lizziebell60 June 1, 2011 at 9:23 pm   

I agree I was prescibed a Whirl Pool by my Rheumatologist and it works miracles, I love mine.

morningsunshine
morningsunshine June 1, 2011 at 3:04 pm   

We do have a Spa/ hot tub. I don't use it as much as I thought I would! I should get in a routine of using it! I use it mostly in our cold Minnesotan winterdays. It seems to help relieve pain, but so does a sauna. Heat is the key, I believe.

marieanne
marieanne June 1, 2011 at 2:59 pm   

Hot tubs are great for pain relief, wish I had one! To put on my wish
list! hugs, marieanne

ZOWLUCY
ZOWLUCY May 8, 2011 at 12:35 pm   

I like them alot when I can find one to use ( Im picky where I go) I can relax in them or I can walk or do some what excerise cause its easier on my joints only thing I have to watch for is over doing cause once you get out your legs can be very tired and your joints can lock up on you Made that mistake one time I was having a really good time and it felt so good I stayedin abit to long OOOOOps not a good idea
I really wish I could have one at home but unfortuanately Im in apt

tharr
tharr May 8, 2011 at 7:05 am   

Lizzie, it really does help tremendously. I like your message to the ones who have not tried one, wished I would have thought of that on my post.

Janet, I had no idea you need to avoid a hot tub if you are diabetic. I have sensitivity to heat and sun from my RA meds also. I like to get in the hot tub at night on my days off. On the nights I work I will jump in as soon as I get up in the afternoon.

kittenpurr1
kittenpurr1 May 7, 2011 at 6:58 pm   

This sounds so good, and I have been in them before, but since I was diagnosed with Diabetes, I have been told to stay out of hot tubs. :~(
I want to get in one so much. I have also been told to watch sun exposure, so…so much for summer fun. Alot of sun block the Nurse told me- anywhere between 30 and 50 protection. Wonder what that will do for a tan, not much. I don't lay out anyway. My brother has a pool.

Lizziebell60
Lizziebell60 April 13, 2011 at 7:58 pm   

Hot tubs or whirlpools are the best for Rheumatoid or any joint and muscle inflamation and sornes. I was prescribed a whirlpool 7 yrs ago and I had to get in 3 times a day for 3 weeks then went to twice a day and now once a day, It works miracles and I have been to a point once that I could not walk and it scared me to death. For the ones that have not tried it by all means give it a try. It also helps swelling and helps manage pain and mobility. Keeps me going.

1cookie :)
1cookie :) March 29, 2011 at 9:52 am   

I have a garden tub. It is smaller than a hot tub and I fill it with each use I add in some epsom salt too sometimes, just a bit. Less expensive to use because it's not running all day/night and clean water every time. I dread the thought that I may have to sell my house and move on. Can't mow and keep up with other thing either. The tub is what keeps me trying to hold on.

S L Shaw
S L Shaw March 9, 2011 at 1:00 am   

We just got a hot tub, don't have it hooked up yet, I can't wait to get in and sit down. Hot showers help me, I am hoping the hot tub will really help us !!!

redeemed58
redeemed58 February 23, 2011 at 6:57 pm   

I have been looking into the cost of hot tubs..have heard they are VERY expensive to run, BUT have wonderful benefits. Hope to find one soon.

tharr
tharr December 20, 2010 at 9:03 am   
Pros

• Relieves arthritis pain and stiffness
• Easy to take care of if you stay on top of it
• Increased Home Value

Cons

• Bacteria in hot tub if you don't take care of it
• Maintenance
• Cost

Hide the Social Toolbar Show the Social Toolbar