Got the Holiday Blues? You’re Not Alone!

By Dr GaryCA Latest Activity December 20 at 2:14 pm Views 1,081 Replies 6 Likes 1

Dr Gary

During the holidays, we are symbols of joys of the season. Colored lights, the music of the season, get-togethers with co-workers, family, friends.

As a mental health professional, I can describe the overlying theme of the holidays with one word: expectations. Expectations around giving, receiving, participating, hosting. And the biggest expectation of all. The expectation of being happy.

When Things Aren’t Perfect

But the holiday season can be anything but happy. Family issues can pop up that cast a shadow over the festivities. Memories of holidays past, and people you shared them with who are no longer in your life, can be painful. All those events you are obligated to attend can be exhausting. On the other hand, not having any plans, or at least not having the plans you would hope for, can make the holidays a time to get through and get past.

Living with a chronic condition can also add some blueness to your holidays. Like when you don’t quite feel up to participating at the level of the people around you. Or have to limit what you eat. Or those times when you might find yourself comparing how you feel now to how you felt in the past.

So if you’re feeling the joy of the season, that’s great. And if you’re feeling the holiday blues, you’re sure not alone.

Not feeling the holidays? Here are some ideas for coping with the holiday blues:

Set limits. If you’re feeling overwhelmed by obligations, take a step back and consider where you want to place your energy and where you don’t. That might mean saying no to attending an event or get-together. Or buying food to bring instead of cooking. Maybe putting in an appearance and then retreating to the sanctuary of your home. Honor your own limits. No need to ice your holiday cake with guilt.