How long after getting a cortisone shot should I be feeling better?

By dreamofnopain Latest Activity October 1, 2011 at 9:25 am Views 16,592 Replies 23 Likes 3

dreamofnopain

I got a cort shot under a flori scope three days ago in my right hip joint still feeling lots of pain. Dr. said may or may not work. Just wondering if I am expecting to much too soon. This is third shot first time under flori. Hip joint is bone on bone. Was hoping for a last ditch effort before actual replacement. I have been battling this for well over three years with various different treatments, Pt. meds, ecetra. Pain is still there and going down butt and thigh to knee like before when I walk but not as significant as it is when I lay or sit.
:(

• Report Report as inappropriate
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Replies (23 replies)

Add your reply Reply Down
  • Ironman49
    Ironman49 March 11, 2013 at 4:39 pm   

Got my first cort shot today in right knee. It hurt and my knee hurts more now to the point I can't even put any weight on my right leg. Hope it starts working tomorrow. Hope you are doing better this year.

• redorangedog
    redorangedog November 7, 2011 at 11:10 pm   

Redorandedog, I would give it 3 days. If it did not work by then, it was not going to help. I have had so many injections over the years, sometimes the doctor gets the right location sometimes she does't.Red

• jayabee52
    jayabee52 October 3, 2011 at 9:35 pm   

I had a cortisone shot many years ago in my Rt hip and knee. It was not done flouoscomicly (is that even a word?) It was heaven! As I recall my relief was almost instantaneous. And outside of a few twinges every now and again to let me know it could flare up again, for the most part the cortisone shot has worked and kept me pain free in the neighborhood of 20 or 25 years.

• bjaneb
    bjaneb October 11, 2011 at 11:58 am